Kimmo Lehto appointed ETA’s Chairman

News – Jun 07 2019

Kimmo Lehto and previous Chairman Leendert Muller


Kimmo Lehto, HSSEQ Manager at Alfons Håkans, has been appointed European Tugowners Association’s Chairman for the next two years term. ETA baton was handed over to Lehto by Leendert Muller (Multraship Towage & Salvage). Lehto’s previous position as Deputy Chairman will be taken by Vicente Boluda Ceballos (Boluda Corporacion Maritima SL).

Changes in the chairmanship were approved at the ETA Annual Meeting Conference that took place at Limassol 5th-7th of June. This year´s conference addressed the challenges and trends in European Shipping and Ports. Speakers focused on the increasing impact of megaships, both on ports and on the towage industry, and highlighted the relevance of skills acquisition and the adoption of digital solutions to keep the EU lead in the sector.

- The European towage industry as a key player in the logistics chain has proven flexibility and ambition to adapt to these new shipping challenges. Nowadays, ETA members own the greenest and most technologically advanced tugs and continually strive to offer the best service. In spite of the enormous challenges caused by the expansion of megaships, the European tug fleet can and will be efficient by adhering to the highest safety standards, says Lehto.

ETA represents the Tug sector at a European level and is composed of 88 full members in 25 countries, who own or operate a combined fleet of over 900 tugs in European ports. Its membership ranges from major towage companies operating more than 100 tugs worldwide to family businesses and port authorities with very small-to-medium-size tug fleets.


Source: European Tugowners Association